CFDA Awards 2010

Last Monday, June 7, 2010, the Council of Fashion Designers of America held their annual CFDA Awards at the Lincoln Center’s Alice Tully Hall where they honor designers who presented great pieces of design. Bloggers and editors cast their votes on who would be deserving of the award known to be the Oscars of Fashion.

There were eleven categories (seven competitive and four honorary awards).

Marc Jacobs' Spring 2010 Collection

Marc Jacob's Fall 2010 Collection

The Womenswear Designer of the Year Award was given to the marvelous Marc Jacobs. Fellow nominees were the amazing Alexander Wang & the divine Donna Karan.

rag&bone's Spring 2010 Collection

rag&bone's Fall 2010 Collection

Menswear Designer of the Year category was also tough considering the nominees: Michael Bastian, rag&bone, and established designer Tom Ford. Ultimately, rag&bone designers David Neville and Marcus Wainright nabbed the award.

Accessories by Alexis Bittar

The astounding accessories designer Alexis Bittar bested the marvelous Marc Jacobs and the pristine team at Proenza Schouler for the Accessories Designer of the Year Award.

Jason Wu's Spring 2010 Collection

Jason Wu's Fall 2010 Collection

Each year the CFDA awards up-and-coming designers with the Swarovski Awards, and this year Jason Wu won the Swarovski Awards for Womenswear surpassing nominees Joseph Altuzarra and Prabal Gurung.

Richard Chai's Spring 2010 Collection

Richard Chai's Fall 2010 Collection

Jason Wu's counterpart was Richard Chai who won the Swarovski Awards for Menswear beating Patrick Ervell & Simon Spurr.

Shoes by Alexander Wang
Bags by Alexander Wang

Though Alexander Wang didn't win the Womenswear Designer of the Year, he did win the Swarovski Awards for Accessory Design.

Iconic American designer Ralph Lauren wins Popular Award

Ralp Lauren proved to be really iconic since he won the Popular Vote (second time in a row) wherein people are voting much like American Idol

Lifetime Achievement Award winner Michael Kors with Gwyneth Paltrow, both in Michael Kors.
Fashion Icon Award winner, supermodel Iman wearing Giambattista Valli

Honorary Awards went to Michael Kors, Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Awards presented by Anna Wintour, and supermodel Iman was bestowed as CFDA's Fashion Icon.

Alexander McQueen's final collection part of the montage presented by Sarah Jessica Parker.

During the event, CFDA also honored the late great designer Alexander McQueen with a tribute of his work and by showing the final collection from the much lamented designer. With Sarah Jessica Parker (also wearing a McQueen gown) as the speaker, the montage/tribute was effective in showcasing the genius that was and always will be Alexander McQueen. Long live McQueen!!!


Image Sources: Style.com, GQ.com, & CFDA

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts with Thumbnails

Tweet me

Twitter with Me

follow me on Twitter